>{}{}{}{}{}{}<

So, an old kindergarten story, The Little Red Hen comes up in my head from time to time, and it always happens when someone says they can’t help out on a new project. I’ll explain by rewording the plot…

The Little UX Architect finds an idea seed; She goes to a Marketer and says, “Will you help me flesh out this idea ?”

“Not I”, said the Marketer, “I have my plans set for the year, and no one has told me to do that.” and the same for the UI team, and Developer [enter alternate excuse here]

The Little UX Architect says, Fine. I will do it myself!”. And she did.

Next, the idea gets fully grown and is ready to sell. She goes to a Marketer and says, “Will you help me sell this idea?”

“Not I”, said the Marketer, “The organization is not built to handle a concept like that right now .” and the same for the UI team, and Developer [enter alternate excuse here]

The Little UX Architect says, Fine. I will do it myself!”. And she did.

Then, the idea gets some buy-in, but it really needs a prototype to get off the ground. She goes to a Developer and says, “Will you help me build this concept?”

“Not I”, said the Developer, “I don’t have the time and bandwidth, because I’d rather work on assigned projects .”

The Little UX Architect says, Fine. I will do it myself!”. And she did.

Finally, the UX prototype is built and it is demonstrated to the company. The Little UX Architect says, “Who will take the credit for this awesome concept?”

“I will!” said the Marketer, “I can really sell this internally to some key folks!”;

“I will!” said the UI Designer, “I will help you make it gorgeous and super intuitive!”;

“I will!”, said the Developer, “I can really tweak the back end for kickass semantic markup and sweet database mojo to accomplish earthshatteringly good reporting.”

And unlike the selfish Red Hen who hogs it all herself, I say, “YES! Let’s make this friggin ROCK!”

 I think the combination of this book and “I think I can” from the Little Engine that Could really did a lot more for me than I realize. Something else to blame my stubbornness on, I suppose! 🙂

I believe that the difference between Innovators and the rest of the pack is their headstrong perseverence after someone says no. Actually, I usually believe it is something really good and novel when people are dead set against it from the onset, because that means change from what is being done today — or at least what has been planned for today. Most people get discouraged, but I just hear, “Fine. I will do it myself!” in my head!

 

Comments on: "An Innovative Pattern from a Red Chick" (1)

  1. Anon A Moose said:

    No snark at all. This actually inspired me. I quit my job earlier this year. Sure, I go every day, but I’m just there to collect the money. I got tired of everyone telling me what couldn’t be done. Last night I was trying to find a way to work around these human roadblocks, and this morning I saw your blog.

Leave a Reply

